2017-18 Academic Calendar


Printable PDF

Fall Term

Monday, August 14-Friday, August 18 … Opening of School Faculty and Staff Meetings and Training

Friday, August 18 … Proctors Arrive

Monday, August 21 … New International Students Arrive

Tuesday, August 22 … New Domestic Students Arrive, Registration for All New Students

Wednesday, August 23 … All Returning Students Arrive and Register

Wednesday, August 23 … Opening Chapel (Parents Welcome)

Thursday, August 24-Sunday, August 27… Orientation Activities and Class Trips

Monday, August 28 … Fall Term Classes begin

Friday, September 22 … Founder’s Day

Friday, October 13-Sunday, October 15 … Fall Family Weekend

Tuesday, November 14-Thursday, November 16 … Fall Final Exams

Thursday, November 16 … Transportation to airport begins after 2:00 pm

Friday, November 17 … Dorms close at 4:00 pm through November 27 at 8:00 am

Friday, November 17-Monday, November 27 … Fall Break

Winter Term

Monday, November 27 … Professional Development for Faculty

Dorms open at 8:00 am, all Boarders on campus by 7:00 pm

Tuesday, November 28 … Winter Term begins

Thursday, December 14 … Christmas Chapel and Dinner 
Upper School Gr. 10-12 attend Chapel & Dinner
Gr. 9 remains for activities and Christmas Dinner
Gr. 6-8 depart campus 
Gr. 6-8 transportation available to airport after 1:00 pm

Friday, December 15 … Dorms close at 4:00 pm through January 2 at 8:00 am

Friday, December 15-Tuesday, January 2 … Winter Break

Tuesday, January 2 … Professional Development for Faculty

Dorms open at 8:00 am, all Boarders on campus by 7:00 pm

Wednesday, January 3 … Winter Term resumes

Friday, January 26—Sunday, January 28 … Winter Family Weekend

Friday, February 23 … Last day of Winter Term, full academic day

Saturday, February 24 … Dorms close at 4:00 pm through March 12 at 8:00 am

Saturday, February 24-Monday, March 12 … Spring Break

Spring Term

Monday, March 12 … Dorms open at 8:00 am, all Boarders on campus by 7:00 pm

Tuesday, March 13 … Spring Term Begins

Tuesday, May 15-Thursday, May 17 … Middle School Gr. 6-9 Final Exams

Friday, May 18 … Middle School Performances and Awards

Middle School Students depart by 6:00 pm

Monday, May 21-Wednesday, May 23 … Upper School Spring Final Exams

Wednesday, May 23 … Upper School Awards Ceremony

Thursday, May 24 … All remaining Upper School Students Grades 10 and 11 depart campus by 4:00 pm

Thursday, May 24 … Baccalaureate & Senior Dinner

Friday, May 25 … Senior Commencement & Closing Chapel

Dorms close at 4:00 pm

Monday, May 28 … Memorial Day, SSM Closed

Tuesday, May 29-Wednesday, May 30 … End of Year Faculty and Staff Meetings

 

Approved 2017-2018 Calendar (10/27/16)