SSM Honors New Members of the Cum Laude Society

January 17, 2018

Five new members are recognized at assembly.

Shattuck-St. Mary’s honored five students who were recently inducted into the Cum Laude Society. Following remarks from Director of Studies Karen Scheel, the students were recognized during an assembly on Wednesday, January 17.

Congratulations to seniors Aiqiao Chen, Dana Grieme, Grisha Hatavets, Andrew Stoneman, and Max Zou. They join current SSM seniors Amanda Cooper, Alexandra Gilbertson, Nancy Jia, Jonah Kagen, Ivana Shen, Emma Yan, and Kelly Zhou in the prestigious Cum Laude Society.

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. The founders of the society modeled Cum Laude after Phi Beta Kappa and in the years since its founding, Cum Laude has grown to 382 chapters, approximately two dozen of which are located in public schools and the rest in Independent schools.

The Society is a fellowship of scholars whose purpose is to recognize excellence in academic work and to encourage achievement coupled with integrity and honor.

Membership is predominantly in the United States, but chapters also are located in Canada, England, France, Spain, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. The SSM chapter of the Cum Laude Society was established in 1922 and was one of only 29 chapters by 1931, making the honor a long-established part of the School’s academic tradition.