Kitty Gorman


English Instructor




Spectator (student newspaper)

Date Began


Family and Pets

My husband Aaron and I have two young daughters, Eleanor and Elise. We also have a one year-old black lab rescue named Knightley. Bonus points if you can figure out the origin of his name.  We recently moved to Faribault from the Twin Cities.  I have a master’s degree in English and a master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction. I also have a reading certificate and a technology certificate.  This will be my fifteenth year teaching. 

Favorite Place on Campus

I don’t have a favorite place on campus yet. I can’t wait to explore the architecture more. I teach in Dobbin and I keep admiring the woodwork and craftsmanship of the whole campus. I feel like I’m teaching in the James J. Hill House. It’s unreal.

Favorite Book

I can’t name a favorite book, but I’m a huge Shakespeare and Austen lover. Perhaps, I was born in the wrong time period. My favorite part of teaching is helping students to realize that writers like Shakespeare are enjoyable and I also love seeing students improve their writing. It’s very satisfying to watch a piece of writing develop and see a student gain confidence and find his or her voice.  


My hobbies are crafting, reading, improving my teaching. I also love art history, HGTV, and spending time with family. We love to go to the Minnesota State Fair, Renaissance Fair, The Uptown Art Fair, museums, farmer’s markets, and to explore around Minnesota.

Save & Share: