Skip To Main Content

Desktop Menu

Mobile Menu

Bristow and Suh Named National Merit Scholars

Lleyton Bristow and Cara Suh accept their National Merit Scholarship Awards
  • Academics

FARIBAULT, MINN.- During the 2021-22 school year, around 1.5 million students took the PSAT. The National Merit Scholarship program, one of the oldest and most prestigious programs in the country, recognizes students who scored in the top three percent of those test takers. Shattuck- St. Mary’s had two students earn this distinction.  Seniors Lleyton Bristow and Cara Suh were recently recognized at a weekly assembly for their achievements.  This marks the second year in a row that SSM has had at least one student named as a National Merit Scholar.

“Our students excel in many different areas and it’s always exciting to recognize those accomplishments,” said SSM Director of College Counseling, Meg Otten.  “Lleyton and Cara’s achievements on a national level deserve our congratulations!”

The National Merit Scholarship program was established in 1955 in response to concern that the US was lagging behind in the Cold War scientific race. This program continues to recognize exceptional academic promise, as demonstrated by outstanding performance on the PSAT and in high school.

More News